Reading the Tarot Pips – Introduction

Note: I’ve changed the sections. I’ve realized some things do need a more detailed explination, and it seems more organized to keep all the subjects seperate.

Yes, I realize I never finished my first series of posts dealing with shielding, but damn it, I’m starting a new one.

I’d like to start putting together some instruction on reading the tarot. The books that exist today are pretty stupid and it’s hard for someone serious about reading to find good information. At the same time writing just the introductory information to begin reading the tarot would require at least an entire book worth of pages, if not more. And I can’t write a book, because there are some areas where I think I’m still not proficient enough to write a complete book.

So, as my compromise, I’m going to start writing information here on different aspects of the tarot, maybe. At the very least I’m going to be writing about one aspect of the tarot, reading the pip cards. For some reason people tend to think that the pip cards are the hardest part of the tarot to learn to read. They’re actually the easiest, easier than both the court cards and the trumps.

The problem stems from people not learning how to read the cards correctly, but rather memorizing divination keys. There are more pip cards than trump or court cards, and they contain less clues to the meaning, therefor they’re considered the hardest.

What I’m going to teach here is a system of reading the pip cards that will help you understand and figure out what the cards mean based on their correspondences and not be reliant on memorization. This is meant as an introduction, and not a complete system, but it will put you in the right direction to complete the process on your own. By the end of these lessons, with a bit of practice, you should be able to write your own key, at least for the forty pip cards. At the same time you’ll be able to figure out what a card means in the context of a spread, and at times you’ll see a meaning in a card you never realize existed before.

This system isn’t meant just for divination either. What is being taught is determining the meaning of the card, and it will work just as well for card meditations, gathering occult information from the cards, and spellwork utilizing tarot cards.

I’m going to split this across eight different parts:

Part 1: The Four Elements

Part 2: Basic Kabbalah

Part 3: Numerology 101

Part 4: Bringing it All Together

Part 5: About the Aces

Part 6: Astrology 101, Planets and Signs

Part 7: Astrology & Tarot, Christian’s method

Part 8: Using the Astrological Correspondences with the Earlier Method

The titles are subject to change as I come up with catchier titles.

One Response to Reading the Tarot Pips – Introduction

  1. Kamala Ramana says:

    Do send me the instructions on reading the tarot. I will write my impressions and my
    understanding of the cards. Look forward to some interesting times.

Leave a Reply

