Stupidity in Astrology

Uranus was discovered in 1784. Many names were suggested, some after the discoverer, some after King George and Britan, along with several roman deities.

Neptune was discovered in 1846.

Pluto was discovered in 1930.

As for the asteriods, Ceres in 1801, Pallas in 1802, Juno in 1804, and Vesta in 1807.

Chiron was discovered in 1977.

These bodies were all named in the Roman tradition with the exception of Uranus and Vesta (These are Greek Deities). The planets however have no connection to the gods they’re named after. In almost all instances the bodies were named after some debate. Those involved with the naming process were typically Chrisitan, Athiest, or Agnostic. They usually had no belief in the Roman patheon. There was no metaphysical or divine connection made between the newly discovered bodies and the names they were given. The bodies were not named after deities they shared qualities with (except on very superficial levels).

What I’m saying is, you can better understand Venus in astrology by understanding the Roman goddess Venus. You can better understand Mars in astrology by understanding the god Mars. But there’s no connection between Uranus the planet and Uranus the god, or Ceres the asteriod and Ceres the goddess (except for what may be inherrited by something taking on a divine name).

All of this should be common sense!

Also Saturn is not an evil or horrible god, and it’s upsetting the way some astrologers talk about him and his mythology.

5 Responses to Stupidity in Astrology

  1. Rashidah says:

    Could you tell me about the gods you have had actual experiences with?

    • Rob says:

      I’ve had experiences with many different gods over the years. So many that it would take me a while to remember them all. I posted a ritual some time ago about communing with the divine, and I recommend it as a method for contacting any deity you might personally be curious about.

      As for myself I’m drawn more towards the Greek and Roman pantheons than any other, but I’m also a bit partial towards the Egyptian and Norse pantheons. I have, at times, spoken with gods from other pantheons, but the gods I tend to have the strongest connections with come from these four pantheons.

  2. Rashidah says:

    I study sumerian civilization.
    Have you encountered any sumerian deities?
    Some researchers claims that sumerian deities are the oldest of the gods.

  3. Rob says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever dealt with a Summerian deity. I have dealt with some Babylonian deities though. I do have a lot of information about the early enslavement of humanity by various creatures that may have at one time been considered gods though. I have some information on boxes that may be Summerian or Babylonian in origin too, but that information I’m keeping to myself right now.

  4. Rashidah says:

    I understand that you are keeping this information to yourself and I will respect your wishes.

    I thank you very much for your time though

Leave a Reply

